In an organization attempting to use the exact same book to run the same rules there are a lot of questions. We’ll try to keep this up-to-date with common questions and their answers.
By Night Studios Vampire the Masquerade
Anything in this section is superseded by the official FAQ and errata provided by By Night Studios.
Range on influence actions? City? State? National? We know level 10 allows you to affect a state sized region, but could that region be across the country?
How influences interact between games is up to the LSTs of those games. A general guideline that the Content Team would suggest is that your Influence can be used to Boost players in other games if the LST does not think your Influence has sufficient reason to be able to reach there to perform actions independently.
When you have armor that has Ballistic and Hardened, do their bonuses stack from 3/1 and 1/3 to 3/3 or 4/4?
The bonuses stack to 4/4.
Can items double up on qualities? Could you create armor that was Ballistic and Ballistic? Would you see a benefit from both? How about a gun that was Accurate and Accurate?
Qualities may not be doubled.
Would the Ballistic and Hardened Armor Qualities you gain from the power Armor of Terra on p. 171 with qualities on physical armor you’re wearing?
In other words if you were already wearing Ballistic Hardened Armor and then used the power, would you enjoy the benefits of x2 Ballistic and x2 Hardened qualities? Or just one set? What about combining the two qualities they gain from Armor of Terra with say Rugged on actual body armor?
Armor of Terra does not stack with normal wearable body armor. The benefit of Armor of Terra is that it is immune to Armor Piercing attacks.
Can you ghoul animals in MET VTM? How should they be treated?
Level 1, 3 and 5 Retainers based purely on the size of the animal, such as in the Beckoning Animalism Power? Also if you have a Level 1 Retainer – Lets say a Ghouled Monkey, would it still have 5 blood and 5 vitae, or would its blood pool be lessened?
Official BNS Answer – Animal ghouls are created just like ordinary retainers. It is up to ST judgement to decide if they want to alter the amount of a blood an animal can contain depend on their size.
Concerning Sabbat, and Frenzy, and “Riding the Wave.”
There is no “riding the wave” in this book.
Serpentis 1 prevents the target from acting until attacked. Serpentis 5 with the focus allows you to remove the Heart of even an unwilling target. Does the beginning of Serpentis 5 count as the attack, or the actual removal?
You have to be in torpor anyway, but yes the start is definitely an attack.
Does the flaw Pied Piper follow the body of the individual or the spirit of them if say they have something like possession?
Pied Piper follows the body of the individual.
It was brought a while back using Misc. Gear to affect discipline challenges. Can my Superior Intimidating shades grant a bonus to Dominate?
The miscellaneous gear qualities (i.e. pg. 520-521) may not be used to augment powers.
Mental and Social focuses grant a +3 bonus to a non-power challenge using that Focus. Best example I have seen of this is using Int focus for +3 on a lore challenge. I had a player ask if he has the Wits focus so he can use Mentals for Firearm, can they add the +3 to their Firearms attack? Nothing forbids the bonus from being granted in a combat challenge.
Maybe something like a trick shot? But generally no. Firearms is also a physical attack because it is defended with physical traits(see “Mixed Challenges” on p. 282).
Over Muscled, from the Szlatcha merit, count as the ghoul’s only discipline spec, or is it entirely free and a spec can be added from the Tzimisce’s in-clans?
The Potence specialization is a true free specialization.
When does the third eye for Salubri manifest?
The third eye manifests for uses of Valeren and Obeah at level 2 and up.
What happens if you use Cache on something that grows?
As a general guideline, if something like Cache goes outside the scope of the power at a later time, the power fails.
Can things like brass knuckles that give me weapon qualities and make use of brawl.
The system does not support the creation of brawl weapons.
Blind fighting, are there restrictions on what powers can and cannot be used? Physical attacks? Mental/Social powers?
If you still meet the line of sight requirement and your target is still able to give you gaze and focus (i.e. they can see too) in powers that require it, then yes.
Does Quietus muffle sound?
The Quietus power Silence of Death does not muffle sound, it removes the existence of it entirely.
While there are no rules changes, but what about small tweaks? For example, Gios only pay 2 merit points for Death and the Soul, but why not Caps? It would only affect Samedi, but it would be thematically appropriate.
Small tweaks are still house rules, so they must exist organizationally or not at all.
Efficient digestion only affects Herd. Shouldn’t it also apply to regular in-game feeding without Herd?
If your ST is willing to run a feeding scene for you, then yes it will double whatever mortal blood the ST allows you to drink during that scene, or allow animal blood during feeding to function as mortal blood (i.e. not halved).
We will be looking for clarification from BNS about this, but until larification can be gotten, since those powers allow for active defense from the target in the form of being able to spend Willpower as a retest, they count as attacks for the purposes of the “Noticing Attacks” section on p. 281.
Chimerstry – Apparition/Horrid Realty. Apparition attack with the Chimerstry test pool. So your cop apparition is attacking someone and uses Social + Subterfuge. The apparition has health levels and can be attacked but what is the dodge pool for it. Does it default to Social+ Subterfuge as well or the invokers dodge pool?
Apparitions used pre-programmed actions and are not capable of adding complex reactions to anticipate opponents attacks. Apparitions do not have dodge pools.
Clarify that animalism works on reptiles like alligators and crocs.
Melpominee: Phantom Speaker to someone in astral/obfuscate. Does the voice behind them go to their body or their mind? Is the voice able to still be heard if the target is obfuscated?
Phantom Speaker goes to body. The voice is heard near the Obfuscated individual, but the Obfuscated individual is not the source of the sound and is being interacted near. It does not inherently drop anyone’s Obfuscate, but may give someone a reason to begin looking for an Obfuscated individual.
Will Projectile modify Quietus: Taste of Death, Vicissitude: Breath of the Dragon, or a mundane non-kinetic weapon like a flamethrower?
Potence had that function in Requiem, but it did not have that ability in the old printing of MET and it does not have that ability in the By Night Studios version either.
What will higher levels of Alternate Identity (specifically 5) actually effect? There is conflicting text.
It will fool Lore checks. It will fool deep social investigation by kindred at higher levels such as the Ventrue Clan lineage records. It will not fool Medicine, Dominate if forced to tell the truth, or Taste of Blood. It will do nothing to change your physiology.
Now that the Elder specialization has been ported over from the Werewolf book, does that mean my Retainer NPCs who are supernatural can choose to take the Elder specialization?
No. The Retainers background explicitly lists the types of specializations that a Retainer may take. Skill and Discipline specializations are the only ones available to ghouls built for the Retainer background.
A Priest may perform the Vaulderie for members of their Pack without requiring the expenditure of any Status.
A Priest may perform the Vaulderie for members of their Pack without requiring the expenditure of any Status. The intent of this rule change is to allow Packs to choose to have a Vinculum Rating of 5 by performing Vaulderies over the downtime. Note that we are making no modification to the rule on page 427 that the correct abiding status is required to enact the rite. As in, if the Priest expends all standing that could be used to enact the rite, they may not enact Vaulderie with their pack until the abiding status returns next game. Also recall that you lose Abiding status until the next game when switching Packs, so this can’t be used to justify creating Vinculum ratings of 5 to more than a pack’s worth of Sabbat by changing packs during the downtime.
The Regent and Cardinals may initiate the Blood Bath ritual without being physically present.
As long as somebody physically present knows the Blood Bath ritual this will work. The Regent or Cardinal is considered the initiator, but if a test is required due to a faithless Cainite being involved, the physically present participant makes the test. This is to enable local games to choose Archbishops without a member of the content team having to physically travel to their game.
Ascendant is immune to lesser status
This was actually something that BNS clarified for us in the middle of the first Chronicle, but we decided not to use it since so many stories had already been told in which Ascendant wasn’t immune.
How does a Blood Hunt work?
In Chronicle 1 we let the Sovereign status dictate our rules. We have since gotten clarifications from BNS and they have released a Werewolf book with a better explanation of monikers. For Chronicle 2 we will use the following rules for the Blood Hunt.
The text of the Spent effect of the Sovereign status will now only read as: “Spent: Expend the status trait Sovereign to give your target the fleeting status Sanctioned or to initiate a blood hunt against your target.” The Blood Hunt section on page 388 is considered the complete explanation.
This leaves us with this somewhat confusing line: “A blood hunt is limited to the borders of a single domain, although the social penalties for carrying the Forsaken negative status remain in effect as long as the target has it.” As has been explained to us by BNS, Bloodhunted is a moniker that refreshes the Forsaken negative status each game that the Prince who called the Blood Hunt plays. This Forsaken negative status applies wherever the quarry goes. The other laws of the Blood Hunt do not.
For example, let’s say that the Prince of Atlanta has declared a Blood Hunt on a character named Andrew. That character now gains the Bloodhunted moniker which confers the Forsaken negative status. Within Atlanta, all of the laws of the Blood Hunt and Forsaken apply. Andrew decides to flee to the friendly city up north of Chattanooga. When Andrew arrives, he carries the moniker and the Forsaken negatives, but the laws of the Blood Hunt don’t apply to Andrew in Chattanooga. The Prince of Chattanooga takes pity on Andrew and removes the Forsaken negative status. Andrew is still Bloodhunted, and in Atlanta the laws of the Blood Hunt still apply, but he is not currently considered Forsaken in any city.
When status would otherwise refresh, Andrew regains the Forsaken Negative status conferred by the Bloodhunted moniker. When the Prince of Chattanooga regains their Abiding status they again remove the Forsaken status from Andrew. As Andrew leaves the room he is heard making fun of the Prince of Chattanooga for being so gullible. In retaliation, this Prince extends the hunt called by the Prince of Atlanta over Chattanooga. Now Andrew isn’t considered Forsaken anywhere, but the laws of the Blood Hunt now apply to him in both Atlanta and Chattanooga.
Now that the Blood Hunt extends to Chattanooga as well the fact that Andrew is no longer Forsaken offers him no protection. Like when he was within Atlanta, he flees as soon as possible avoiding the local populace who would have little choice but to see them as an enemy.
Does the effects of having a prince remove forsaken for just the night or until the next game they’re on the field? Wondering how it will impact the character’s ability to function on Camarilla sect boards while Forsaken. So which aspects between games mean they’re Forsaken still.
The moniker refreshes the negative status at the beginning of the next game for the character with the moniker. Generally this is going to be the next game they play in, or their next home game, depending on the interpretation of their LST. While you’re Forsaken you’re not Accepted in your sect so you can’t be on any lists which require such a thing. Hopefully this won’t be happening often enough to be a burden on staff or the player of the Bloodhunted character will properly handle not looking at the list during the times they are Forsaken on their own if staff can’t keep up.
Architect of the Tower is now limited
You may only take the Architect of the Tower merit if you were one of the following clans: Gangrel, Toreador, Malkavian, Nosferatu, Ventrue, Brujah, Tremere. All Architects must be logged with and approved by the CCST for both consistency of story and to ensure a shared understanding of which sort of Kindred was there at the founding of the Camarilla.
Will the ban on the merit purchase be irrespective of the character’s clan presentation (i.e. a Settite that dupes as a Pillar clan through Alt ID)?
Alternate Identity is capable of weaving lies without regard to whatever your real character is. If your clan is not pillar then the real character may not have Architect of the Camarilla. Whether or not your LST lets you take an alternate identity where you are lying and tell everybody that you are an Architect is between the two of you.
Overlapping Prestigious Sire or Social Nobility?
These merits now require CCST approval in order to ensure that the story is consistent between characters. There was no problem with these merits other than people accidentally making the same unique story as another person.
Elder of the Camarilla standing is now limited by a merit
We are making a modification to the Social Station section to curb the accumulation of advantages to Elders of the Camarilla. In order to create a character that is of the Pretender Elder, Master Elder, or Luminary Elder generations and has been known to be active for at least 300 years you must purchase a 1 pt merit named Elder of the Camarilla. If your character’s age or Generation changes while in play in order to meet this definition, you may not claim the Abiding status of an Elder of the Camarilla until you purchase the merit. If you are out of merit points at the time, your character may never gain the Abiding status traits.
A Short Aside on Machiavellian Prodigy
The newly introduced merit has no direct effect on Machiavellian Prodigy. Machiavellian Prodigy changes how you are perceived without actually changing your age or generation. We did use that merit to help decide on what the true cost of playing a social Elder should be. Here’s an illuminating example.
Make a Luminary Elder that is 299 years old at year 0 for the chronicle. By base he would be an Ancilla and get Confirmed. If you purchase Machiavellian Prodigy, now you gain Confirmed, Established, and Privileged for 1pt. Now year 1 starts.
By the base book you could now, with LST permission, remove Machiavellian Prodigy and purchase a new 1pt Merit without ever materially losing the benefit of the original merit. With our change you’re paying the same you were already paying.
One of the upsides though is that it does help engender a sense of fairness. Nobody gets something for free because they convinced an ST. If you want that particular arrangement of benefits you have to pay something, and it may be similar to the cost for something else, but their build has trade-offs too. We didn’t think those trade-offs balanced out correctly for Elder of the Camarilla when looking at the different builds and play-styles.
How do stock NPCs interact with Disciplines that require dots in an Ability to work correctly?
We have generally allowed that for these purposes Stock NPCs have pseudo dots equal to their stock rating in order to make the powers they have work. This has never been fully clarified by BNS though, so different games may interpret this slightly differently.
Can Necromantic Training be used to purchase Mortis Path?
Yes. This particular merit is five points and circumvents any other text limiting the availability of Mortis Path. This can be seen to conflict with the text of Premascine and the opening information in Mortis Path.
Can I have a wraith as a Retainer without the Ghostly Retainer Merit?
No. More specifically, you may not use any of the elements from page 500 to build any Retainer for the Retainer’s background unless it is to reflect the Ghostly Retainer Merit.
How are Ghostly Retainers constructed? The rules are ambiguous as to which limitations apply.
Ghostly Retainers are Stock NPCs built using the rules on page 500. They also have the same limitation as other Retainers in that they can only purchase one of these specializations. They do not gain the advantages of the in-clan Disciplines of their domitor, however, because they are not formally Ghouls. This means that they have all of the Discipline Specializations from page 500 available to them, but only one of those Specializations may be purchased.
All Wraiths have up to Dementation 2 without requiring a Discipline Specialization, and this is also true of Wraiths built from Ghostly Retainers. If you choose to take the Dementation Discipline Specialization your Ghostly Retainer will have Dementation 5 available to them but no other Disciplines.
The text that confuses the situation was altered as part of the errata of the book. Reproduced here for clarity:
- Retainers background, Discipline Specialty, page 105: Remove the word “ghoul” from this sentence: “Ghoul Retainers may use one (and only one) of their specialties to learn a discipline that is in-clan for their domitor.” Characters who have access to vampiric or ghostly retainers may give their underling a discipline specialty.
This doesn’t fully clarify the situation, but more elements of the FAQ do. In particular, they were very clear about the single specialization limit. Reproduced here:
- Question: If a Retainer is not a ghoul (e.g., a Giovanni wraith), are they still bound by the single Discipline rule? This does not seem to be the case for the sample wraiths.
- Answer: Other than the free powers they get based on type, yes, they are still bound by the single Discipline rule.
This doesn’t exactly explain why they don’t gain the Disciplines of their domitor. Besides the logical inconsistency that comes from them not being a Ghoul, another FAQ statement says this about Wraiths:
“A wraith cannot pierce a vampire’s Obfuscate across the Shroud because it cannot use powers (other than Dementation) without manifesting and because Wraiths do not have access to Auspex.”
If they inherited their domitor’s Discipline specialization it would be harder to guarantee such a statement.
How many influence actions do I gain from Paragon?
The Paragon merit is talking about the influence category, not the specific number of dots you have. It is calculated as dots +1, not dots x2. This means that if you have 2 dots in Influence: High Society, and only the Paragon Merit to modify your action count, that you have 3 Influence: High Society actions available to you.
By Night Studios Werewolf the Apocalypse
Everything in this section is superseded by the official errata.
By Night Studios Werewolf the Apocalypse Errata